

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

May 3, 2022

## **CONTACT:**

Pam Bonee (865) 576-3146 Pam.Bonee@orau.org

## A selection of the nation's most accomplished STEM teachers designated as Albert Einstein Educator Fellows

Teachers representing 14 states will apply classroom experience to federal, congressional, and executive branch offices.

**WASHINGTON, D.C.** — Fifteen K-12 science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) teachers from across the United States have been named 2022-2023 Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellows. The fellows will spend eleven months serving in a federal agency or U.S. Congressional office in Washington, DC, engaged in the national STEM education arena.

The Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellowship (AEF) Program provides a unique opportunity for accomplished K-12 STEM educators to apply their extensive classroom knowledge and experiences to their host offices to inform federal STEM education efforts.

The 2022-2023 Einstein Fellows are as follows:

Laura Akesson Richmond, VA Zachary Carey Baltimore, MD Jennifer Childress Anchorage, AK Center Point, AL Candyce Curry Tyler Dufrene Raceland, LA Alfonso Garcia Arriola Portland, OR Luke Henke Pittsburg, KS Jessica Hexsel Mountain View, CA Thomas Jenkins Fairborn, OH Jacqueline Katz Middletown, NJ Carla Neely Lyndhurst, OH Michelle Strand Fargo, ND Danielle Taylor Bronx, NY Vidalina Trevino Fort Worth, TX Nicole Yemothy Seneca, SC

The 2022-2023 Einstein Fellows come from K-12 schools across the country and represent diverse teaching backgrounds—with expertise in science, engineering, computer science and mathematics. Federal agencies and U.S. Congressional Offices will benefit from Fellows' real-world experiences as educators. In return, Einstein Fellows will gain understanding of the role of the Federal Government in the U.S. education enterprise, knowledge of resources available to students and educators, and broader perspectives on national education issues that can be applied to the classroom or to leadership positions in their districts or elsewhere.

The AEF Program, now celebrating its 32nd year of operation, is managed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science's Office of Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists in collaboration with the sponsoring agencies and the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE).

Sponsoring agencies for the 2022-2023 Einstein Fellows include DOE, the Library of Congress, the U.S. Department of Defense, the U.S. Geological Survey, the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. In addition to sponsoring placements at DOE headquarters, DOE sponsors five placements in U.S. Congressional offices.

The Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) is a world-class DOE institute designed to strengthen a scientific workforce; promote the integrity of scientific research through peer review; provide 24/7 medical response to radiation accidents; evaluate human health data to protect workers from occupational hazards; and conduct independent environmental cleanup assessments.

Like AEF on Facebook: <a href="https://www.facebook.com/AEFProgram/">https://www.facebook.com/AEFProgram/</a>

Follow AEF on Twitter: <u>@AEF Program</u>

###

