John C. Hardy is a University Distinguished Professor in the Physics Department at Texas A&M University and a Group Leader in the Cyclotron Institute at that university. He was born in Montreal, Canada and received his B.Sc. (1961), M.Sc. (1963) and Ph.D. (1965) from McGill University in that city. He spent from 1965-67 as an NRC (Canada) Post-doctoral Overseas Fellow at the Oxford University (England) Nuclear Physics Laboratory; and then went to the Lawrence Radiation Laboratory at the University of California, Berkeley, first as a Miller Fellow (1967-69) and then for a year as a staff member. He returned to Canada in 1970, joining the staff at the Chalk River Nuclear Laboratories of AECL, where he stayed for 27 years, eventually becoming division director responsible for both nuclear research at, and operations of, the Tandem Accelerator Superconducting Cyclotron (TASCC) facility. This facility functioned as a Canadian national laboratory serving university researchers from across the country as well as the in-house research staff. He left AECL in 1997 to join the Physics Department and the Cyclotron Institute at Texas A&M University. He also spent a year's sabbatical (1976-77) with the ISOLDE group at CERN in Geneva.

Hardy is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and of the Royal Society of Canada. He has received the D.W. Ambridge prize (1965) upon graduation from McGill University; the Herzberg medal (1976) from the Canadian Association of Physicists; the Rutherford medal in physics (1981) from the Royal Society of Canada; and he shared, with Ian Towner, the 2006 Bonner Prize from the American Physical Society for his work on superallowed nuclear beta decay. He has served on numerous Program Advisory Committees at national laboratories and is currently a member of the PAC for the ATLAS Facility at Argonne National Laboratory. He has also served on advisory committees to U.S. and Canadian funding agencies, as well as having been elected to the executive committee of the Nuclear Physics Division of the APS (2002-04) and as Vice President of the Academy of Science of the Royal Society of Canada (1992-95).

His current research interests are in nuclear tests of the weak interaction *via* superallowed betadecay and of internal conversion; he concentrates on high-precision measurements. Past interests include exotic nuclei, atomic masses, delayed-particle decay, and transfer reactions. He has published more than 300 papers in physics.