BES Budget and Planning

Kara Beles, Financial Management Donetta Herbert, Financial Management (Vacant, Senior Technical Advisor) (Vacant, Senior Technical Advisor)

Office of Basic Energy Sciences

Associate Director Linda Horton

BES Operations

Teresa Crockett, Program Analyst

Robin Hayes, Program Manager and Acting EFRC Co-Lead Kerry Hochberger, Program Analyst / BESAC* (Vacant, Senior Technical Advisor for EFRCs**)

(Vacant, Program Support Specialist)

Materials Sciences and Engineering Division

Andy Schwartz, Director

John Vetrano, EFRC Team Co-Lead (A) Shawn Chen, AAAS Fellow (Vacant)

Materials Discovery. Design, and Synthesis

Mike Markowitz

Materials Chemistry Chris Chervin Craig Henderson

Biomolecular Materials Aura Gimm

Synthesis and **Processing Science** James Dorman

Batteries and Energy Storage Hub; Technology Coordination

Craig Henderson John Vetrano

Condensed Matter and Materials Physics

Scattering and

Instrumentation

Sciences Helen Kerch

X-ray Scattering

Lane Wilson

Neutron Scattering

Mike Fitzsimmons

Electron and Scanning

Probe Microscopies

Jane Zhu

Experimental Program to

Stimulate Competitive

Research (DOE EPSCoR)

Tim Fitzsimmons

(Vacant)

Mick Pechan

Experimental Condensed Matter Physics Claudia Cantoni (Vacant)

Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics

Matthias Graf Claudia Mewes

Physical Behavior of Materials Refik Kortan

Mechanical Behavior and Radiation Effects John Vetrano

Quantum Information Science Athena Sefat

Scientific User Facilities Division

Linda Horton, Acting Director

Rocio Meneses, Program Support Specialist

Operations

X-ray and Neutron Scattering Facilities

Dava Keavney Misha Zhernenkov Yiping Feng

Nanoscale Science **Research Centers**

Athena Sefat (A) (Vacant)

Accelerator and **Detector Research** Eliane Lessner

Facilities Coordination: Metrics: Assessment Van Nouven

LEGEND

Construction

Linac Coherent Light Source-II/ Advanced Light Source Upgrade Hannibal Joma

Advanced Photon Source/ SNS Proton **Power Upgrade** Ed Stevens

Facilities Upgrades and Major Items of Equipment Ed Stevens

Hannibal Joma (Vacant)

Detailee (50%) from ORNL

Chemical Sciences, Geosciences, and Biosciences Division

Gail McLean, Acting Director

Gregory Fiechtner, EFRC Team Co-Lead (A)

Fundamental Interactions

Tom Settersten

Atomic, Molecular, and **Optical Sciences**

(Vacant)

Gas Phase Wade Sisk

Gregory Fiechtner Marat Valiev

Aaron Holder

Photochemistry and

Jennifer Roizen

Photosynthetic Systems

Stephen Herbert

Physical Biosciences

Kate Brown

Fuels from Sunlight

Gail McLean

Tom Settersten (A)

Chemical Physics

Condensed Phase and Interfacial Molecular Science

Computational and Theoretical Chemistry

Energy Innovation Hub Chris Fecko Jennifer Roizen

(Vacant)

Chemical **Biochemistry Transformations**

Raul Miranda

Solar Photochemistry **Catalysis Science** Chris Fecko

Chris Bradley Viviane Schwartz

Separation Science

Raul Miranda (A) (Vacant) ★ Vanda Glezakou

Heavy Element Chemistry Philip Wilk

Geosciences

Jim Rustad

Quantum Information

Tom Settersten (A) (Vacant)

Science

March 2023

(A) Acting

▲ IPA from SLAC

Detailee (50%) from PNNL

^{*} Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee ** Energy Frontier Research Centers